Author Topic: The game won't start for me  (Read 13864 times)

Shub-Niggurath

  • Posts: 5
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
The game won't start for me
« on: September 01, 2013, 09:36:29 PM »
My friend just gifted me the game and it won't start at all.
When I start it, it just says the program stopped working. I've tried using various compatibility modes or running it as an admin, no luck.
I also read various posts about messing with config.xml, so I tried that, but the file doesn't even seem to exist. I created it manually, but that didn't help. I took a look inside Event Viewer and found errors logged from .NET Runtime with the following details:

Quote
Application: Hammerwatch.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: System.AccessViolationException
Stack:
   at OpenTK.Audio.OpenAL.XRamExtension.SetBufferMode(Int32, UInt32 ByRef, XRamStorage)
   at TiltedEngine.Audio.OggStream..ctor(System.IO.Stream, TiltedEngine.Audio.MusicChannel)
   at TiltedEngine.Audio.MusicInstance.Play()
   at TiltedEngine.Audio.Music.Play(Boolean)
   at ARPGGame.Menus.MainMenu.LoadGUI(ARPGGame.GUI.GUILoader, TiltedEngine.ResourceBank)
   at ARPGGame.Menus.MainMenu..ctor(ARPGGame.GameBase, TiltedEngine.ResourceBank)
   at ARPGGame.GameBase.SetMenu(ARPGGame.MenuType, System.Object[])
   at ARPGGame.GameBase.ResetGame(Boolean)
   at ARPGGame.GameBase.Initialize(ARPGGame.GameControls, ARPGGame.WorldDrawer, ARPGGame.MenuDrawer, TiltedEngine.PhysicsSystem, TiltedEngine.Camera, ARPGGame.StartParameters)
   at ARPGGame.ARPGGame.OnLoad(System.EventArgs)
   at OpenTK.GameWindow.Run(Double, Double)
   at ARPGGame.Program.Main(System.String[])

Not sure where to go from there. Here are my specs:
Core i7-4770K
16 GB RAM
Radeon HD 7970 (Catalyst 13.8b2)
Windows 8 Pro x64

Kavex

  • Posts: 62
  • Modder/Support
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 09:46:58 PM »
My friend just gifted me the game and it won't start at all.
When I start it, it just says the program stopped working. I've tried using various compatibility modes or running it as an admin, no luck.
I also read various posts about messing with config.xml, so I tried that, but the file doesn't even seem to exist. I created it manually, but that didn't help. I took a look inside Event Viewer and found errors logged from .NET

Sounds like the required components didn't install correctly when running the game for the first time.

Re-install these two things: Steam\SteamApps\common\Hammerwatch\_CommonRedist\DotNet\4.0\dotNetFx40_Full_x86_x64.exe and Steam\SteamApps\common\Hammerwatch\_CommonRedist\OpenAL\2.0.7.0\oalinst.exe

and if you want to be safe you can also do Steam\SteamApps\common\Hammerwatch\_CommonRedist\vcredist\2010\vcredist_xxx.exe


I'm assuring you have it on steam since someone gifted it to you

Here are the files packed with steam if you don't have it
https://mega.co.nz/#!IBxwlTqK!Q36eNzJf2ETj6rcqdR2avxv2AVYrziO7w4WdMS_YOwI
« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 10:00:47 PM by Kavex »

Shub-Niggurath

  • Posts: 5
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2013, 10:01:41 PM »
Thanks for your reply. I did what you said, but it didn't help, unfortunately.

Kavex

  • Posts: 62
  • Modder/Support
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2013, 10:05:10 PM »
Are you able to open the editor?

Shub-Niggurath

  • Posts: 5
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2013, 10:15:41 PM »
Yep, the editor seems to work.

Kavex

  • Posts: 62
  • Modder/Support
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2013, 10:20:46 PM »
Yep, the editor seems to work.

I was looking into some .NET Framework 4.0 issues and came across this a few times.

Code: [Select]
<configuration>
  <startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true">
    <supportedRuntime version="v4.0"/>
  </startup>
</configuration>

Try added that to the above <Options> of the config file and see what it does?

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
  <startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true">
    <supportedRuntime version="v4.0"/>
  </startup>
</configuration>
<Options>
« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 10:27:07 PM by Kavex »

Shub-Niggurath

  • Posts: 5
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2013, 10:31:59 PM »
As a reminder, I never had a config.xml. I created one with the following contents:

Code: [Select]
<Resolution>
<Width>800</Width>
<Height>600</Height>
<Fullscreen>false</Fullscreen>
<LetterBox>false</LetterBox>
</Resolution>

(Found that at http://steamcommunity.com/app/239070/discussions/0/864976115142371272/)

So now it looks like this:

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
  <startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true">
    <supportedRuntime version="v4.0"/>
  </startup>
</configuration>
<Options>
</Options>
<Resolution>
<Width>800</Width>
<Height>600</Height>
<Fullscreen>false</Fullscreen>
<LetterBox>false</LetterBox>
</Resolution>

Unfortunately the game still won't start.
I just ran the game with the "log" argument and obtained a logfile, which is attached. It doesn't seem to contain any useful information except for that fact that it says "failed loading config.xml" which is no surprise since the file doesn't exist or was redacted by me and is probably incomplete.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 10:33:38 PM by Shub-Niggurath »

Myran

  • Developer
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2013, 11:03:28 PM »
Do you have a creative sound card? It seems like creative has some issues with their OpenAL implementation for some of their sound cards, try downloading this dll: http://hammerwatch.com/OpenAL32.dll and putting it in your hammerwatch folder.

Shub-Niggurath

  • Posts: 5
  • Maggot Crusher.
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2013, 11:45:49 PM »
Do you have a creative sound card? It seems like creative has some issues with their OpenAL implementation for some of their sound cards, try downloading this dll: http://hammerwatch.com/OpenAL32.dll and putting it in your hammerwatch folder.

I do (Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD), and that fixed it, thank you! As a test, I moved OpenAL32.dll out of the folder again and the game stopped working, so that definitely seems to be the problem.

Kavex

  • Posts: 62
  • Modder/Support
    • View Profile
Re: The game won't start for me
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2013, 11:49:06 PM »
Do you have a creative sound card? It seems like creative has some issues with their OpenAL implementation for some of their sound cards, try downloading this dll: http://hammerwatch.com/OpenAL32.dll and putting it in your hammerwatch folder.

I do (Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD), and that fixed it, thank you! As a test, I moved OpenAL32.dll out of the folder again and the game stopped working, so that definitely seems to be the problem.

Sweet! Glad you got it running!